Professor Amy Bruckman to Serve as School of Interactive Computing Interim Chair

Georgia Institute of Technology Professor Amy Bruckman will serve as interim chair of the School of Interactive Computing beginning on July 1, after current Chair Annie Antón’s term comes to an end. Bruckman, who currently serves as associate chair of the school, will serve until the school hires its new chair at the completion of an international search process.

“It’s been a pleasure working with Annie these past three years, and I’m excited about the candidates in our chair search,” Bruckman said. “I don’t aspire to a bigger administrative role myself, but I’m happy to fill in during this time of transition.”

Bruckman has been a faculty member in Georgia Tech’s College of Computing since 1997, when she was brought on as an assistant professor. She became an associate professor in 2003, a professor in 2012, and began serving as associate chair of the School of Interactive Computing in 2014.

As a researcher, she and her students focus on social computing and online collaboration. Current projects include studying the introduction of the internet to Cuba, and trying to understand online harassment. She also studies how social media can support social movements, and is currently doing action research with the organization Science for the People.

Bruckman received her Ph.D. from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) Media Lab’s Epistemology and Learning group in 1997, her Master’s from the MIT Media Lab’s Interactive Cinema Group in 1991, and her Bachelor’s in physics from Harvard University in 1987.

Professor Annie Antón began her five years of service as chair of the School of Interactive Computing in 2012, joining Georgia Tech’s faculty ranks after 14 years at North Carolina State University’s College of Engineering.

Antón earned each of her Bachelor’s, Master’s, and Ph.D. from Georgia Tech in 1990, 1992, and 1997, respectively.

The search for a new chair is being conducted by a committee of 11 faculty, staff, and students. It is chaired by School of Computer Science Professor Ellen Zegura. Other members include School of Interactive Computing Professors Ian Bogost, Ashok Goel, and John Stasko, Associate Professors Mark Riedl and James Hays, Assistant Professors Betsy DiSalvo and Jacob Eisenstein, research scientist Agata Rozga, financial administrator Connie Irish, and Ph.D. student Maia Jacobs.

Click the link for a full description of the open chair position and background on the School of Interactive Computing.

Related Media

Click on image(s) to view larger version(s)

  • Amy Bruckman

For More Information Contact

David Mitchell

Communications Officer